A Little Less….Aches & Pains

I am, for a lack of a better word, unfit. I do not do exercise of any kind. Unless you count running around after kids exercise, then I would retract my previous statement.

I am turning 30 in August. Big deal huh? I don’t reckon that is old either. Heck neither is 40! So why the hell do I feel like I am 80? In between the legs that ache the possible arthritis I have in my wrist and the lower back issues, I feel “ok”. Granted for the last two weeks I actually have been feeling good. Up until last night. Again, I was reminded that I am not a spritely teen nor am I superman.

You see, as the kids grow up they tend to get heavier. For some reason, in my mind, I still tend to think I can pick them up like they were still infants. They are not. I picked up N last night to put her in her bed. She is heavy. I clearly picked her up incorrectly and that’s when I felt something (a muscle I presume) just under my left shoulder blade twitch. I ignored it until I lay her down. It was everything I could do not to scream. The pain was excruciating. I tip toed out of her bedroom and collapsed on the couch in the lounge. The pain was so bad I could barely breathe.

I tried to calm down and assess the situation. Yup, it’s a pulled muscle. In the crappest of places. I now can’t breathe too deeply or else it feels like I have been stabbed with a sharp object. Any sudden wrong movement and the pain triggers again. I’m annoyed.

This of course cannot happen at a more inconvenient time. I still have packing to do and now I can barely stretch up my arm! What now? Well, I reckon I’m gonna suck it up (like most moms do) and put on some deep heat and work through the pain.

This whole issue of course has put me in a foul mood. I don’t feel like talking, smiling and the like. Luckily the colleague that sits in the same office with me is off today. Good for her. Great for me. So I am by myself, to wallow in my own unfit self pity.

On the up side I taught L how to use the washing machine. I don’t usually let her but I trust her and I have no choice at this point. So laundry will be done. A little sliver of sunshine on an otherwise gloomy day.

2 thoughts on “A Little Less….Aches & Pains

  1. Auch! Well, I have a sore left shoulder too – more a spasm than a muscle. Enjoy the break – and live in the hope that it gets less complicated as you move along. We love holidays so we travel a lot.

    And my girl, 2 is particularly trying with the fighting thing – but it is there fore life.

    • That does sound ouch! Hope it heals soon!
      Yeah, I definately need this break so totally looking forward to it. 🙂

It would be awesome if you left a comment. No, really it would!

