It’s Not Going To Be A Good Week…

You know how I know I am going to have a rough week?

L has had to go to family for three days (as in out-of-town family). Today being day 1. She is back on Monday. I don’t think I am going to cope with how my kids are going to be over the next three days.

You see, I have to drop off the kids at my mom’s for the next three days before work and collect them after. My mother gives them free reign and they can go crazy. Aka, they will drive me crazy when I collect them after work. Aka, this is not going to be a good week.

I’m sure you know how it is when the kids are with the grandparents. With mine it takes a while before I get them to be at least semi behaved and less hooligan like. I could go into the nitty gritty of why this is but I figure it is pretty self-explanatory and frankly I feel like a zombie at the moment.

Let’s hope I make it to Monday in one piece.

10 thoughts on “It’s Not Going To Be A Good Week…

  1. Yep, it’s self explanatory. I have a 2yr old and in our house we talk to one another in a civilised manner. But, when Ouma comes to visit he suddenly feels the need to scream at us when talking to us!
    I feel for you. Good Luck

    • Oh my word, mine are exactly the same! Its like there is no volume control. Also they have forgotten how to use their ears and that it is actually there for a purpose! lol!
      Thanks for popping in. 🙂

  2. What worked for me is that I politely said, Joshua, I will not listen to if you’re screaming. Come talk to me when you calm and civilsed! And I left. I had to repeat a few times. And then … Breakthrough, he came to me and softly touched my hand and said, Mommy can I have cheese? (in the sweetest voice, like I’ve never heard it). Ouma was dumb struck. Score Mommy!

    • That is awesome!
      I am yet to get that right in front of the grandparents. They are a little better at listening when they are home after a visit.
      But I am going to continue trying. 🙂

  3. Well done, you made it to the final day! Hope it’s getting better. I find it extremely difficult to parent MY child when the grandparents (both sides) are around. It feels as if I need to compete for my child’s attention? WTF?
    Grandparents don’t realise what shit they cause but hey that’s life and we must just deal with it(just like me MIL states – diplomatically). WTF? N.O.T in my house!

    Hehehe. They are realising that neither DH/I will stand for their crap. I put on my stilettos and put my foot down.

    • YES!! The final day *does dance of joy*

      I am slowly starting to be more firm with my folks and the in-laws. It wasn’t that long ago that my mom allowed the kids to play with (I can’t remember what it was now! Brain fail) something. When she realised they were going to break it and tried to take it away, they went full on tantrum.

      I just looked at her and smiled sweetly and said: “I warned you about this. I would probably suggest that you find a quick way to distract them or it’ll get worse” and then turned and walked away. The look on her face was priceless and now she checks with me on certain things before just giving it to them.

      They will learn and understand. Slowly but surely. 🙂

  4. LMAO. Score Mommy!

    Yes, they will learn. HOPEFULLY. “cos my mother & MIL have very different (read: Fck up) personlities where they just do what they want to. It’s a never ending battle.

    You know I’ve started consuming alcoholic beverages when they (M & MIL) are around. It definitely makes the situation less tense. 🙂

    • Lol! I sometimes wish I drank!

      I totally understand the whole M vs MIL concept! Two different ways of dealing with kids yet equally f*cked up and stressful on me! You’re right, it is a never ending battle!

  5. I love how motherhood has made me “connect” with other people. Like I’m part of a secret “cult” LOL.
    I was never big on alcohol, could sip on one drink for the night but between these two women I can hve several drinks per day. I’m tired of having to defend myself, so I’ve now resorted to “because I said so”. I don’t even say that to Joshua.

    Have a great weekend.

    I enjoy reading your blog.

    • I never thought I would use “because I said so”, but as it turns out its listed high on my vocab usage! Lol

      Its wonderful to know that I’m not the only mom out there who feels the way I do sometimes. I love connecting!

      Have a super weekend and thanks for reading. 🙂

It would be awesome if you left a comment. No, really it would!

